Bad Blogger Does Denver

31 Jul

It’s been a while, I know. Summer’s run away from me and I’ve been neglectful of my teensy little corner of the Internet here. I plan on doing some major recapping of the amazing happenings (including a tiny blogger meet-up in Vegas earlier this month) that have filled my summer days very soon, but in the meantime, want to say hi to you all from the gorgeous Denver, Colorado.

You see, twenty-five of my fellow team mates and some willing significant others came here from Toronto, Canada to compete in the Colorado Dragon Boat Festival yesterday. We were sort of already celebrities before the day started, as we were being touted as the first international team to come compete in this annual race, already eleven years strong. I will say that the people of Denver are probably one of the most friendliest and hospitable people you will ever meet. They are warm and welcoming, and yesterday they cheered for and supported us as we competed against their own local teams. It was fierce competition, which made for a fun day of racing against some strong teams. And we, the first ever International Team from Toronto, Canada, managed to win gold in two of the three distances in which we raced. Though the competition was fierce, it was probably one of the friendliest and respectful we’ve ever experienced.

Denver, you’ve stolen our hearts.

Today, we’re all getting into another kind of boat—I’ll be white water rafting for the first time in my life. If I had a bucket list, this would totally be on it. And making it even better is that I get to do it here in Colorado.

5 Responses to “Bad Blogger Does Denver”

  1. reni July 31, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    yay for the win! denver is pretty cool aside from the altitude! LOL i’m so glad you are having a good time!

  2. courtney August 2, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    No way!! I live walking-distance from Sloans Lake where the festival is held!! That’s my lake! I am glad you like Denver. It’s a nice place. It’s true. The people here are really nice. Whenever I get a visitor from California (which is where I’m from) they comment on how nice the people here are. How long are you in town? Very exciting. I hope to see more Denver posts 🙂

  3. Leesh August 2, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    Congrats on the win! It’s funny how you can’t find the time to blog when you are at home but found some time while in Denver?!?!?! It’s all good, at least we know it was a successful trip. Glad to hear you had lots of fun!

  4. Elisse August 19, 2011 at 12:18 am #

    Wow congrats to the success of your team!!! Can’t wait to see your pics from Denver!!!

    Oh! And a Jelly update too if you have time!

  5. Krysten September 20, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    The only time I’ve been to Denver was the airport =-( Not so much fun.

Leave a Reply

