These Days, I…

18 Mar

…am so fatigued that when afternoon arrives, I can barely keep my eyes open and they start to hurt. The contributors to my fatigue are DST and the hilarious little Jelly.

…am not complaining about DST. Though we are leaving in the morning when it’s still dark, we come home and it’s still light out. Prolonged daylight equals increased happiness for me.

…am not complaining about the hilarious little Jelly either. Nearly all of our free time is devoted to the tiny furball and it’s been incredibly exciting and fun to see her personality emerge, learn new things, and grow.

The Breakfast of Champions.

…am happy that everyone has been so eager to meet Jelly. We’ve had a steady stream of visitors since she’s come into our lives. We even had a spontaneous visit from my Aunt and her husband this past weekend, who live 5 hours away in Ottawa. It was all spurred by this photo that I posted on Facebook on Saturday morning, in which Jelly is playing with her new stuffed chocolate donut toy. My Aunt called me in a panic as soon as she saw the photo to tell me that I really shouldn’t be giving chocolate to my dog because it’s poisonous to them. Once we were done laughing over her mistake, she and her husband hopped in their car and came to stay with us for the weekend.

…am slightly mortified that my life has become all about this puppy and that it seems that it’s all I can talk about. I never wanted to become that person. I’m so annoying.

…think about my blog every day and feeling horribly neglectful of it. I started writing a post almost 2 weeks ago and have not been able to get back to it since. And now, though I really shouldn’t be doing this, I’m writing this at work.

…was so tickled to have seen our friend M., (actually one of The BF’s best friends from way back in high school) perform on stage two nights ago to be part of a new reality tv singing competition. It’s kind of like NBC’s The Sing Off, only the premise is of average Canadians forming “workplace glee clubs” that battle it out onstage for the charity of their choice. We went to the taping of their episode, and I was so incredibly proud and happy to see M. as one of the lead vocalists with his workmates, singing and dancing his heart out, that I actually got all teary. (shhhhh. don’t tell anyone. how embarrassing. I hope that wasn’t caught on camera). Also, it was a complete surprise to me that I ended up to be in the same room as Vanilla Ice that night, who is one of the three judges on this show. How is it that he is still around, and dressing the same way as he was in the 90s? The show will be airing in Canada later in the spring and M. will be getting lots of solo camera time. We were sworn to secrecy and had to sign waivers and all, so I can’t say what songs they mashed up, or who ended up winning the competition.

…feel like I’m having a slightly harder time adjusting to this “new” job than I thought. The BF asked me a couple of weeks ago if I was happy and I didn’t know how to answer. I’m mostly settled, but still feel slightly uneasy. My job now involves less stress, and almost zero drama which is completely different from my previous job. I will admit that this may mean that I feel like I am not so invested in my work because I have less at stake here. It’s not a bad thing, really, but after years of having fear, stress and anxiety as my main motivators, this is completely foreign to me: To work without being on the verge of a panic attack every second of my day.

…wish that spring would hurry up and come, and then stay a while. I am tired of wearing a coat and boots, and of making sure that I have gloves with me at all times. I am tired of wearing socks. I am tired of dry, parched skin. I am tired of winter.

…have been battling huge feelings of wanderlust. Since coming back from India in January, I’ve wanted little else than to pack my bags and just go, especially hearing about others traveling to Vietnam, Cambodia, Australia, the Honduras and Italy just in the last couple of months. And it feels like India is a destination for many other people this year, including my cousin who is leaving in a couple of weeks to see her friend get married there and for Kay, whose blog I just discovered — she just left a couple of days ago and will be living and volunteering in India for a year. How amazing!

…made macaroni and cheese with spinach for dinner last night and have brought it for lunch today. I can’t wait to eat it.

…will get sorted eventually. I swear.

6 Responses to “These Days, I…”

  1. Leesh March 18, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    You’re alive!!!! Just kidding. I know what it’s like to be busy and neglect your blog. I am slowly getting back into it.

    I still have to meet Jelly, and I should come by soon before she gets big. What I love about her is how small and cute she is. How much bigger will she get?

    So…are you in for Vegas? We need to start planning soon.

  2. reni March 18, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    i wouldn’t worry about not blogging. we all have lives outside of it. i can totally relate with how you feel with your new job, although mine is the opposite. before i had less stress, drama and such, now there’s more just because i deal with people. but i had to change my mindset about it. it took me about a year to finally feel good about my role. just like you, i always have travel in mind. belize and honduras at the end of the year, and somewhere in between are vegas, vancouver, bc and new orleans.

  3. courtney March 19, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    glad to hear you are alive 🙂 puppies will take up a lot of time and energy, that is for sure. it’ll get easier. sounds like your new job is great! you should never have constant panic attacks about work. that is the sign of a bad job. glad you are out of that situation.

  4. stephsolchai10 March 19, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    Welcome back!!!!
    Puppies are bundles of energy!!! Sounds like you’re enjoying every minute of it!!! 
    Thats so cool about M!!!! I can’t wait to see it!!!!
    Hope to see you soon!!!!

  5. kat March 21, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    there are moments i don’t feel like turning on my computer let alone blog; this thing called life gets in the way sometimes!

    i’m stoked about my upcoming vacay and our mini-getaway in vegas; M and i are talking about going away again in aug so i guess you can say we’ve caught the wanderlust bug too.

    jelly is SO cute!

    re: the job: it takes a while to feel comfortable and get into your groove. going from a job where there’s a thousand balls in the air to one that is more relaxed does require an adjustment period. for so long i’ve been on cruise control until recently where things just well full steam ahead and it took me a while to get used to working at a fast pace again so i guess it goes both ways!

    @ reni: make your way to T.O.!

  6. Maureen April 10, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    when are you going to have Jelly’s taco party??! 26er keeps on asking if every little puppy we see is Jelly! LOL!

    sounds like you’re still adjusting to your new job. you’ll soon see, a less stressed job make more room for living life the way it’s suppose to be! 🙂

Leave a Reply

