Fill in the Blank Friday

11 Feb

Guilty pleasures is the theme of this week’s Fill in the Blank Friday. Speaking of which, I just returned from a two-hour lunch, which I have to force myself to stop feeling guilty about. It was with a bunch of co-workers for somebody’s birthday, so I guess I don’t have to feel so bad about it since half the company was on the same lunch. What I really should be feeling guilty about is the fact that I’m updating my blog when I in fact should be doing my work.

If you want to play along, link up at Lauren’s blog.

1. The TV show/website that I watch/read that I would be embarrassed to tell anyone about is Teen Mom.

2. An item of clothing that is worn and torn but that I love far too much to throw away is does my childhood blanket count? I don’t hold onto old clothes for sentimental reasons, but my old blanket (really a bed sheet) was white with peach coloured flowers all over it. Though it is in shreds and is in a couple of pieces now, I can’t throw it out. It hasn’t been used or touched in years, but I still need to preserve it in its sad state.

3. My grocery store impulse buy is salty snacks like potato chips.

4. Something I do at work to pass time that I wouldn’t want my co-workers to know about is catch up on my blog reading on Google Reader. That, and my online research for puppy breeders.

5. One thing in my life that I could give up, but never will is television. Lately, there has been talk in our house of cancelling cable, the thought which I am embarrassed to admit is slightly paralyzing to me. However, we’re looking into getting an HD antenna plus Apple TV so that I can continue to enjoy such intellectual pursuits as watching Teen Mom and the Bachelor.

6. A little indulgence that I have is when I feel like having something sweet during the day at work, I will fill a cup halfway with hot chocolate and top it up with coffee.

7. The junk drawer/area in my house is in my kitchen. Originally, it was a place just for our home appliance manuals. Now it’s become kind of a catch-all for batteries (including a baggie of old ones that we need to dispose of), attachments for my food processor, household item receipts, take-out restaurant menus and a Benjamin Moore paint fan deck.

5 Responses to “Fill in the Blank Friday”

  1. Leeann @ Join the Gossip February 11, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    Oooh hot chocolate and coffee? That sounds pretty amazing! I, too, am embarrassed to admit how obsessed I am with TV…I have way too many TV shows I am addicted to.

  2. courtney February 11, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    i said teen mom as well 🙂 AND i also have a bedsheet that i’ve had for maybe 20 years. and i sleep with it every night…

  3. Krysten February 12, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    Oh Teen Mom… such a guilty pleasure!

  4. kat February 12, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    i can never give up my PVR. i gave M such a hard time when he first got them because I was all “it’s such a waste of money! it’s so expensive!”. now, i can never watch live TV again and if i do happen to watch a live program, i get annoyed when i can’t fast forward the commercials!

  5. Leesh February 19, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

    I love TV too much to ever let it go. When I hear people don’t have cable, I think, “What planet are you from?”

    I sometimes think that we should get a PVR but I don’t want to be paying an arm and a leg when you can just find shows online after.

Leave a Reply

