30 Things About Me

10 Feb
Photo by PetitPlat Food Art via flickr.com

I’ve been pretty bad at keeping up with blogging since the new year started. Chalk it up to the lack of interesting things going on in my life since returning from India. Everything just kind of pales in comparison to my experiences there. That, or I have a huge lack of motivation as a result of this frigid, dismal, snowy winter we’ve been having here in Toronto.

A couple of days ago, Courtney did a 30 Things About Me post. I had so much fun reading all the random facts about her that I wanted to soak up some of the fun myself and make my own list. I think you should try doing it too because it’s a fun — and surprisingly easy — thing to do. I’d love to learn more about you all too.

1. When I was about a year old, I was rolling around in my walker while my mom had gone downstairs to do some laundry one morning. She had closed the door behind her, but I somehow managed to open it and then roll down the concrete steps, landing at the bottom on my head. I wasn’t seriously hurt, but ended up with two black eyes after returning from the Emergency Room.

2. My first car that was handed down to me by my parents was an ancient charcoal grey 1983 Chrysler LeBaron that required ten minutes to warm up in the summer and let out a huge, sputtering, farting noise every time I turned the engine off.

3. Except for several goldfish, my brothers and I were never allowed to have pets when we were growing up.

4. Shamefully, I never had a reason to have a passport in my name until I was 25 years old.

5. In my early teen years, my dream job was to be the Editor-in-Chief of BOP! Magazine. I did end up working in magazines as my first ever real job after I graduated, but in the Art Department, not Editorial.

6. When I started University, my major was English. I ended up doing an extra year so that I could graduate with Honors, and with a second major in Mass Communications.

7. From the age of 18 to 25 years old, I dated two Jons in a row, and then three Steves in a row. That’s like a full house in poker.

8. I have not had long hair since high school. I’ve tried many times to grow it out, but it never gets past my chin before I can’t stand it any longer and have to shear it again.

9. Annie was my favorite movie when I was young. I also loved the Wizard of Oz, but not as much, because of the flying monkeys. They scared me.

10. I don’t know how to use chopsticks properly. And yes, I am Chinese.

11. I was teased for my thick, big hair and my full lips when I was 13 – I had not yet grown into these features. Some boys called me Tina Turner for this. I remember, and am scarred for life.

12. I have one tattoo on my back, near my left shoulder blade, of Winnie-the-Pooh.

13. It’s probably just in my head, but when I’m a passenger in the back seat of a car, I have to sit behind the driver. Otherwise, I get car sick.

14. I sleep with a night light because I’m afraid of the dark. I traveled in India with tiny plastic flameless candles so that I would always have light with me. It was probably one of my most practical ideas ever, because I didn’t have to plug anything in and I never had to sleep in the dark.

15. Since returning from India, I have been even more fascinated with Asia. I hope to travel to Vietnam and Cambodia next.

16. I love watching the show Arthur on weekend mornings. It’s an animated children’s show about an 8-year old Aardvark and his daily adventures.

17. I believe that people should not wear pajama pants in public.

18. I bring my lunch to work every day.

19. I rarely drink anything but water. Oh, except when I’m drinking tea. Or wine.

20. In May, I had gotten into a heated disagreement with my then boss. When I told The BF about it afterwards, he also became indignant about the situation and said to me “Nobody puts Baby in the corner.” That made me feel better instantly.

21. I feel incredibly guilty about this now, but when I was in grade school, I would often throw away the “dessert” that my mom packed in my lunches. It was usually something like a Wagon Wheel, a Joe Louis or a Swiss Roll cake, for none of which I ever developed a taste. I suppose my juvenile mind thought it would be better if I threw them away rather than bring them home and hurt my mom’s feelings to know that I didn’t like them.

22. I have to cover my eyes whenever I see marionettes.

23. Drinking merlot makes my feet hot. And then it makes me pass out.

24. As I type this, I’m wearing a Snuggie. My youngest brother and his girlfriend got it for me for Christmas. The year before that, they bought me a Magic Bullet.

25. I don’t like taking baths. Ewwww.

26. I keep my old cell phone on my bedside table so that I can use it as my alarm in the mornings.

27. My alarm is set for 6:03 am because it feels way better than 6:00 am.

28. I don’t like air conditioning. I prefer to sleep with the windows open in the summer, even if it is suffocatingly hot and humid.

29. My parallel parking skills are superb.

30. I can hardly get through watching a movie without crying. It doesn’t matter what genre it is. Things that get to me especially are babies being born and adult men crying. I cried while watching Star Wars: Episode II – Attack of the Clones. Yup, true story.

8 Responses to “30 Things About Me”

  1. Krysten February 11, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    I don’t like taking baths either and I didn’t have a passport until I as 24.

    Happy weekend lady!

  2. courtney February 11, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    oh- this was so fun to read. i am glad you did it 🙂
    -i LOVE baths. i used to take one every night. every.single.night.
    -i was an english major too & i ended up doing 5 years of college so i could get a spanish major in addition.
    -i get car sick if i am not in the front seat. nobody puts baby in the back seat!

    have a good weekend.
    -c

  3. courtney February 12, 2011 at 1:07 am #

    and check out this blog post. the first photo reminded me of your “30 things.”
    http://prettylittleworldfashion.blogspot.com/2011/02/playing-around.html

    • Steph February 12, 2011 at 7:20 am #

      LOL. that’s kind of mean…but at the same time, nice that you thought of me!

  4. kat February 12, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    love this post! i love reading random things about people. i’ll be sure to keep this in mind when i have a chance to blog 🙂

    btw, i was scared of the dark until i moved into this house 3yrs ago!

    oh and besides, me, you’re the whitest chinese person i know! 😀

  5. allison February 13, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

    Thanks for checking out my 100 things…
    i totally agree with your #19 and the fact that this snowy winter in toronto sucks!
    🙂 allison

  6. Elisse February 16, 2011 at 3:16 am #

    We’ve already talked about the nightlight thing, but I’m with you on the goldfish-only pet thing and the thick thick hair!

  7. Leesh February 19, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    First of all, I love that photo. It’s creepy scary and cute all at the same time.

    I loved BOP when I was younger. I wish I kept at least one of the old issues.

    I only dated guys with the name Mike, Joe(y), Alex or Paul.

    Arthur’s family reminds me of the Solons. I use to think Jon looked like Arthur and the little girl was Dianne.

    I am so glad you have a Snuggie. Maur got me one for Christmas and I love it!

    I am also scared of the dark. When I am staying in a hotel, I have to have a light on.

Leave a Reply

