Fill in the Blank Friday – Shopping

26 Nov

It’s going to be a busy upcoming couple of weeks for me. Not only are we leaving on our trip to India in a week and a half (squeeeee!), but The BF and I are having our 2nd Annual Holiday Party tomorrow night. We’ve spent the last week running around organizing and preparing for this, and stocking up a little on our wine supply. It’s going to be loads of fun, I hope, hosting a small crowd of people in our tiny little house. He’s setting up the DJ room again. The only thing I’m slightly gutted about is that I don’t have a Christmas tree up this year. This was a decision that we had to make because we’ll be away for so long and it didn’t make sense to spend the money and time putting the tree up when we were going to leave it to dry out in our living room over Christmas.

I haven’t done a Fill in the Blanks in a couple of weeks now, so this was an especially fun way to start my day. If you want to play along, just visit Lauren’s blog to link up.

Happy Friday!

1. Black Friday is an American phenomenon that I have yet to experience first hand. Living in Canada, the closest thing we have to is Boxing Day, which is the day after Christmas and is a national holiday too. The stores have sales and deals on this day too, but I’m pretty sure the discounts aren’t as deep as what you find on Black Friday. I live just over an hour away from the U.S. border, and I know that droves of Canadians have gone down to the states this morning to do some serious shopping.

2. Christmas shopping this year will include gifts for my parents, brothers and their significant others. The BF and I will be spending the better part of December (including Christmas) in India this year so I will be missing the last minute shopping rush this year.

3. Holiday shopping makes me really anxious and weary. I hate crowds. I hate mall parking lots. I am not an aggressive shovey person and being amongst all aggressive shovey people in stores makes me CRAZY!

4. This year my Christmas list will include gift cards from Forever XXI, H&M, Sephora, Crate & Barell, West Elm. The entire LOST series DVD set and Glee Season 1. Or cash. Cash is always good.

5. Bargain hunter, or full price shopper? Bargains. All the way.

6. The best and worst things about shopping is Best: finding something for someone you know he or she will love. Worst: See # 3.

7. Online shopper or in-person shopper? I can only buy things online that I don’t need to try on or feel. Books and electronics are things that I can easily shop for online. Though I’m often tempted by sales, I’m really wary of buying shoes and clothes online because I feel like I need to try things on first. And like Lauren, I am a tactile person and I need to touch and feel things between my fingers. Depending on the day, it’s either very endearing or annoying to The BF when we are shopping together because it seems to be a bit of a compulsion that I have to touch the first thing I set my eyes my eyes on in a store.

7 Responses to “Fill in the Blank Friday – Shopping”

  1. kat November 26, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    while I would love to jump feet first into the Black Friday shopping phenomena, I can’t stand crowds anymore. Which is weird because I LOVED going to the Umbra warehouse sale where you used everything short of a battering ram to push your way through the crowds to get what you wanted. I’ve been perusing Amazon.com for sales!

  2. reni November 26, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

    love H&M! i think black friday is also invading the internet for those like me who’d rather sleep in and not get trampled by the mob! 🙂

  3. leesh November 26, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    If you need season 4 and 5 of LOST, let me know. I can get you a good deal on it. hahaha!

  4. Maureen November 26, 2010 at 4:40 pm #

    I hate mall parking lots too! Ha, sounds like your a gift card maniac. At least you can choose anything you like in the store.

    See you tomorrow babe!

  5. Maureen November 27, 2010 at 6:59 am #

    btw, loving the new blog look… it’s giving me butterflies and the colour is putting me in a good mood…

  6. Elisse November 27, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    I will only suffer holiday shopping crowds if I absolutely have to. I’m a crazy Boxing Day shopper, so I’ll hit up the shops early 😀

    I LOVE LOST TOO! I’m a huge Lost fan, as well as a J.J. Abrams fan 🙂 DVDs were on crazy sale for Black Friday on Amazon.com! We got the complete BlueRay set for $120 USD!

    Have fun at your holiday party!!!

  7. MONICA December 1, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    not to be a debbie downer, but black friday is overrated. you get good deals, but the people are crazy!!

    xo
    monica

Leave a Reply

