Happiness is Packages in Your Mailbox

23 Nov

I met the lovely Elisse of für elisse through a book swap we signed up for earlier this year. We’ve gotten to know each other over the last several months through our blogs, occasional emails, and now that we’ve both recently acquired shiny new iPhones, through the instant messaging service What’s App. Elisse has been a wonderful friend to me even though we’ve never met in person. She is really good at reaching out to just say hi and to stay connected. She’s also really good at making people feel special!

Imagine my happiness when I learned that I was to expect a little care package in my mailbox. Yes, it was supposed to be a surprise which Elisse had to spoil due to a small mix up in the mailing address (poor girl). Surprise or not, opening your mailbox to discover a package addressed especially for you is one of those joys that we don’t get to experience often enough these days. Elisse, the thoughtful and generous person that she is, wanted to bring this joy to quite a few of her friends far and wide and I was lucky enough to be included in this list of hers.

Look at the happiness that came to my mailbox late last week!

The envelope was packed with artfully wrapped goodies.

I exercised an extreme amount of patience in waiting until after dinner to unwrap my little gifts!
  1. Two hand-written cards for me – one from the original post date, and the second from after!
  2. A little desk calendar adorned with an adorable little doggy.
  3. A reusable cloth shopping bag. So handy to carry around in my purse for those spontaneous shopping errands.
  4. Two packing check lists, which I suspect will be a lifesaver for when we have to pack for our trip to India in 2 weeks. I’m going to let The BF have the second one so that neither of us leave anything essential behind.
  5. A package of Geisha Plum green tea from David’s Tea. What an excellent choice Elisse! This was one of my favorites from the Fall Line – I’d already gotten one refill on my tin of this and was running very low again. How did you know?!

Thank you Elisse, for all of these useful and thoughtfully put together treasures.

4 Responses to “Happiness is Packages in Your Mailbox”

  1. Leesh November 23, 2010 at 10:03 pm #

    Elissa is awesome and I’m so glad to have met her through blogging. I just wish I met her before my trip last year to Vancouver. It would have been nice to meet her in person. Maybe you and I should go there to meet her!

    Before you using the packing list, make sure you photocopy for future use!

    • Steph November 23, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

      Yes! Thanks for the photocopying tip! I will go do that now so that I won’t forget in my packing haste!

  2. reni November 24, 2010 at 12:08 am #

    awesome! i love getting things in the mail, aside from bills and junk! ha ha ha

  3. Maureen November 24, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

    YAY! what awesomeness Elisse gave you through snail mail. it’s such a joy receiving things this way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

