Day Twenty-Nine | Collections

7 Oct

Today’s prompt for My 30 Days is:

things you collect
+ things you would like to start collecting.

My mom has always been a collector of things–it’s a trait that she inherited from her mom. She owns many collections stowed away in big plastic bins, and I’m pretty sure that the Cabbage Patch Kid collection she started for me and my brother was mostly for herself in the first place. I think that there was a strong possibility that I too would inherit this appetite for collection when I was younger, though I think that the strong aversion to clutter I got from my dad trumps any inclination I may have to start building big groups of like objects to display in my house.

I’m not a big collector, but there are two things that I can think of that I could consider collections.

Magnets: Whenever we travel to a new destination, I have to find the cheesiest, most garish souvenir magnet to bring home to stick on our fridge.

Photo by r@chel* via flickr.com

Books: I have rows and stacks of books. I am a reader who will rarely borrow books from friends and who will never go to the library, and that’s because I love to buy books so that when I’m done reading them, I can add them to shelf. My books are among my most prized possessions.

Photo by ƅethan via flickr.com

 

6 Responses to “Day Twenty-Nine | Collections”

  1. Maureen October 7, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    Booo.. My 1st comment didn’t publish properly…

    Similar to your magnet collection, I do the same with shot glasses. However, I started collecting fairly late and therefore didn’t get any from my Europe travels and sometimes I’m too picky.. Did I didnt get 1 from Hawaii. Oh well guess I’ll have to go to Hawaii again then! Lol!

    Is that yor fridge? It’s so cheesily organized! 😛

    • Steph October 7, 2010 at 9:48 am #

      Oh! I remember your shot glass collection – good one! Hurry back to Hawaii to find that shot glass, lady.

      And no, that’s not my fridge that’s so cheesily organized. haha. 🙂

  2. Ai October 8, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    I feel the same way about books. Which drives hubby crazy. I started to exchanged with my sis, so that helps a bit. Wow, you are almost done the challenge!

  3. Leesh October 8, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

    I like the collection of magnets. I myself was wishing that I collected postcards from all the resorts/islands I have stayed at. I do have a couple but I plan to expand my collection now. I am also going to ask friends who are traveling to pick one up for me…with that said, can you pick me up a postcard when you go to India?

  4. micaela October 13, 2010 at 9:09 pm #

    you are so cute! def. the cutest Boy George i’ve ever seen 😉 oh steph, thank you SO much for playing along in my halloween fun! i just posted that blog 🙂

    magnets- i’m just starting to collect them cos i realize i do need to “hang up” stuff– dog appointments, phone numbers, notes, quotes, etc 🙂 you should see my fridge!

    books… books i never can not buy. love them too much!! In fact, when my husband-to-be and i first started dating, he was going to get me the kindle when it first came out and realized what a BIG (though nice and fancy) mistake that would have been cos there is nothing like turning a page… the smell of old books… and a growing book shelf. 🙂

    x

    • Steph October 13, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

      Micaela – I feel the exact same way about books as you do. As good and appealing as the Kindles look, I don’t think I would enjoy one very much. I treasure all of my books on my shelf. Reading a book cover to cover and being able to turn the pages is one of the best joys in life.

Leave a Reply

