Day Twenty-Six | Pet Peeves

3 Oct

Today’s prompt for My 3o Days is:

5 pet peeves.

1. Lousy Drivers. Whether I take the train into the city or I drive, my commute to and from work can take up to 3 hours daily. Therefore, I can encounter a great deal of really bad drivers every day. Some of the things that really get my blood boiling are:

  • people who don’t signal when they switch lanes
  • people who merge into traffic at the very last possible opportunity they can get, as if that one extra car length has gotten them that additional edge on the gridlock
  • people who cruise in the left lane. FYI that is the passing lane. If you’re not passing, get into the other lane.
  • people who will move forward in an intersection though it is obvious that they will not clear it due to the traffic in front of them. As a result, when their traffic light turns red, they become a road block because they’re still in the middle of the intersection.
  • people who reverse on the highway because they have realized that they’ve missed their exit. Seriously.

2. Being late. I hate being late because I hate making people wait for me. For work, I make it my own policy to arrive and be ready to work before 9:00. If I’m just arriving at my desk and it’s 9:00, I consider that late.

3. Errant shopping carts. I hate being in the parking lot of a Walmart or the grocery store and seeing the parking lot littered with shopping carts. It’s just utter laziness if you’ve finished loading your car up with your purchases and you leave your shopping cart in the closest empty parking spot, or worse yet, in between 2 other parked cars when there is probably a cart corral just a few steps further from where you are. Even worse is a stray shopping cart spotted far from any store, and in a residential neighborhood.

4. Inconsiderate public washroom users. Do you like to wipe up my pee off the toilet seat before you get to use it? Well, what makes you think that I enjoy cleaning up after you?

5. The flagrant misuse of “…and I.” This probably stems from the constant correction by grade-school teachers which has now caused the constant grammatically incorrect use of “….and I” in spoken and written communication. I think that reality-tv stars are the worst offenders. Is it the fear of using the word “me” in a sentence, or is it because “and I” makes you sound smarter?

  • Correct: Sandy and I have a great friendship
  • Incorrect: Could you send that document to Theresa and I in an email?

The question I quickly ask myself in my head before constructing a sentence like this is, if I took the other person out of the sentence, could it be grammatically correct? ie. “…I have a great friendship” = yes; “Could you send that document to …. I in an email?” = no. I wouldn’t ask someone to send that document to I; I’d be asking that person to send that document to me. Therefore, the correct way to ask is:

  • Could you send that document to Theresa and me in an email?
7 Responses to “Day Twenty-Six | Pet Peeves”

  1. Maureen October 4, 2010 at 12:17 am #

    Lousy drivers suck ass! A car in front of me stopped on the highway cuz they missed their exit. I almost crashed into them and a truck almost crashed into me!

    That’s a great pointer regarding the misuse of I.

    • Steph October 4, 2010 at 9:52 am #

      Yikes! Must’ve been a quite scary experience considering your recent car accident. SO glad you are ok. Lousy, careless drivers really get my blood boiling.

  2. reni October 4, 2010 at 1:16 am #

    i hate being late, too. i hate waiting and people waiting for me. public restrooms, errant shopping carts … yea, i agree on those too.

  3. Becca @ Life in Technicolor. October 4, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    lousy drivers … YES! Like I said in my post, I can’t stand people who act dumb on the road. Haha. I love all of your other peeves too.

  4. CarrieBeth October 4, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    i am with you on every single one of these! especially with lousy driver and the misuse of “I”. definitely opportunities to work on my patience!

  5. Leesh October 4, 2010 at 9:40 pm #

    I went on a grammar course and was taught the proper use of “me and I”. You described it perfectly.

    I also hate being late and it bothers me when people are late. Sorry I was late when I met you that one Friday. Wasn’t it hilarious though that I walked right by you because I had no idea where I was going?

  6. Steph S C-O October 5, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

    ME like this post!

    LOL!!! I share your hatred of errant shopping carts and being late. Although, lately, my timeliness is in Miss H’s hands!!!

Leave a Reply

