Day Twenty-Four | Necessities

1 Oct

Today’s prompt for My 30 Days is:

a list of things you
don’t leave the house without.

Photo by SewPixie via flickr.com

The list below is a pretty standard one.

But, wait – let me tell you about this past Saturday, which was a complete gong show because we ran out of the house without my bag, and I hadn’t realized that I didn’t have it until it was way too late. Like, we were already an hour away from home (with the traffic) at the venue for the wedding.

It would have been fine except I had borrowed The BFs debit card earlier that morning so that I could get my hair cut at the salon. That bank card was nestled safely in my wallet, still at home. He doesn’t carry credit cards, and like me, rarely ever carries cash. It was already 1:30 and neither of us had eaten lunch. He was meeting his technician to set the sound system up, at which point, the remaining balance was due for the technician’s fees. No cash. No bank card. No remaining balance on hand to pay. So, with my tail between my legs, I rang up our friend who was also around to help set up for another portion of the evening and I had to ask him to borrow that ridiculous amount of cash from him. And still, while I was asking to borrow the money, I hadn’t even thought to pad the amount by a tiny bit so that we could have some cash to buy ourselves something to eat. We were nourishment- and sleep-deprived. He was on his 32nd hour of no sleep, and I was operating on just 3 hours of sleep.

Things did work out in the end, but not without a whole lotta panic and extra running around we had to do in order to score another debit card from the bank that afternoon.

Lesson learned. Do not run out of the house without what’s on the list below. Or, at the least, without the wallet.

Phone
Wallet
Keys
Moleskine Calendar/Notebook
iPod
Lip Balm
Gum/Mints

One Response to “Day Twenty-Four | Necessities”

  1. Leesh October 1, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    What a crazy story! I am glad that everything worked out in the end.

Leave a Reply

