Day Twenty-One | Favorite Restaurant

28 Sep

Twenty days into this challenge and it happens: I miss a day. With good reason, I think? It was an incredibly busy and exhausting weekend. It was my birthday on Friday, and then there was a wedding on Saturday at which we were guests and The BF was also working as DJ. On Sunday we had birthday lunch and dinner celebrations with friends and family. And Monday–my favorite day of the weekend–The BF and I both had the day off in which our only responsibility was to make sure the other was having fun. All this meant very little time to post, but very much lots of fun all weekend!

I’m putting myself back on track for the rest of my challenge right now.

Today’s prompt for My 30 Days is:

a photo of your favorite place to eat

Marben, in Toronto.

I’ve been there twice now in as many weeks, and the last of which was on Friday for my birthday. The food is delicious, using only fresh, local ingredients sourced from within a 100km radius. The décor is farmhouse themed and features reclaimed wood, exposed brick and really cool mason jar lighting. I love coming here.

Here are some pictures from my Friday night birthday dinner with The BF. Apologies for the blurriness of these images – it seems that our little point-and-shoot camera is having a hard time handling dimly lit places.

Our view of the kitchen and the chef's table.

Mason jar lighting.

The birch slat ceiling.

Mushroom Fricassee. So. Good.

Chicken. I can't remember what it was called, but it was gorgeous and delicious.

Braised Rib Burger. Really rich and satisfying and yummy.

Roasted Beef with Brown Butter Hollandaise. There are just no words for this. I'm serious.

Chocolate Ice Cream Sandwich with Hot Fudge and Crème Anglaise.

6 Responses to “Day Twenty-One | Favorite Restaurant”

  1. Maureen September 29, 2010 at 12:19 am #

    the food photos look fricken amazing!!! i’ve only been to Marben once and LOVED IT! thanks for the reminder… i should go pay Marben a visit.

    • Steph September 29, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

      Run to Marben. Soon. Your mouth will thank you.

  2. Leesh October 2, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

    Did you go to Marben before the renovations? I liked the old Marben, not to keen on the new place. Mr. Dee and I went right after the opening. The food was good but I am not a fan of the rustic theme. They do have pretty good Mojitos.

    I am down for giving it another shot because I definitely want to try those ice cream sandwiches.

    PS – I also had that mushroom dish. It was delicious!

  3. Angie October 7, 2010 at 4:39 am #

    Ummmm can we do the blogger meetup there??? That looks to die for delish!

    • Steph October 7, 2010 at 9:16 am #

      Let’s do it! Leesh can try the ice cream sandwiches!

  4. Leesh October 8, 2010 at 7:50 pm #

    Angie and Steph – we have to do the meet up soon before it gets too cold.

Leave a Reply

