Day Eighteen | Then & Now

24 Sep

Today’s prompt for My 30 Days is:

a picture of you from last year + this year
+ how have you changed since then?

July, 2009

August, 2010

How fitting is it that this be the prompt today, on my birthday?!

Pretty cool, though I wish that this post could be a much more elaborate chronicle about all that has changed in the past year. The truth of it all is that I don’t think much is really different for me.

I’m still the same person. Maybe someone with a little less debt. Or more, because we bought a new car, but I am someone who had to learn how to drive stick. Still, someone without any major milestone to celebrate except for another year added to her age. Life keeps chugging along alarmingly fast, and in this past year I’ve shared in many momentous occasions with those who are close to me. Some devastatingly sad, more that were astoundingly happy. And all those moments helped to reinforce the notion that life should be appreciated and valued because it is significant, no matter who you are, what you do, and how little you seem.

At the beginning of this week, my office mate reminded me that this should be an important birthday for me, only because it sounds like it should be a significant year. Doesn’t that make me feel like a dinosaur? Oh yes, an aimless one. So, on this day, ie. the anniversary of my birth, this is what I resolve. While I will make an earnest effort to be happy in current moments and appreciate all that I do have, I also need to make equally earnest efforts in discovering who I want to be and what I want to achieve. So, this is where I commit myself to seeing more change, more achievements, and maybe some major milestones happening for me in the upcoming year.


4 Responses to “Day Eighteen | Then & Now”

  1. miQ September 24, 2010 at 8:21 am #

    Happy Birthday!

  2. Elisse September 24, 2010 at 10:40 am #

    Happy birthday!! You’re right- each year brings some amazing moments that remind us how Life should be appreciated. Wishing you a year blessed with everyday miracles 🙂

  3. Maureen September 25, 2010 at 5:39 am #

    cheers to change, achievements and major milestones!

  4. Leesh September 26, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

    I hope you had an awesome birthday weekend!

Leave a Reply

