Day Four | My Childhood

10 Sep

Today’s prompt for My 30 Days is:

a picture of you as a kid
+ 7 facts about your childhood.

one | My Teddy Bear was named Dodo. All my dolls were named Diana.

two | One of my favorite things to do was to go to the public library with my mom and choose a big stack of books to bring home to read.

three | The first time in my life that I went to the theater was to go watch The Empire Strikes Back with my Dad and my Aunt. I remember lining up to see it, and being devastated and terrified at the end when Han Solo is being frozen in the carbonite, while not understanding at all what was going on.

four | My favorite movie was Annie. We had it on VHS and I watched it
every day.

five | A trip to McDonalds was a treat and an event. Unlike today, there weren’t that many around back then. We’d just be hanging out in the family room playing, and my Dad would come into the room and excitedly ask my Mom if
she wanted to go to “M–A–C.” Whenever we went, my brother and I would
each get French Fries and a milkshake, and we’d have a blast sitting on those spinning chairs.

six | I was embarrassed to the point of tears the one time I called my teacher “Mom” at my First Grade Science Fair.

seven| In my first couple of years of school, my favorite lunch to bring to school was a soggy hot dog wrapped in tin foil. My mom didn’t pack it often at all, but when she did, it was such a treat for me.

2 Responses to “Day Four | My Childhood”

  1. Elisse September 20, 2010 at 1:37 am #

    That is some funky tv stand in the first photo of you – yay for the 70s! The first movie I remember watching at the theater was Annie! It was also the first time I remember taking the bus. Back then I thought it was an adventure – now I can’t say I feel the same way 😛

    • Steph September 20, 2010 at 11:54 am #

      That Sony Trinitron was state of the art back then, and it did come with its own tv stand!! Taking the bus back then did seem like such a huge adventure, didn’t it?

Leave a Reply

