Let’s Go to the Ex!

2 Sep

September is significant to me because it represents renewal, probably even more than January does to me. The lazier slower days of summer are winding down and I know that it’s time to buckle up and get to doing all the work I’d set aside so that I could take advantage of the season and act carefree. It’s a new season, and soon the hot and heavy air is going to give way to a crispy chill. I always think of the first day of school as September approaches even though I haven’t been in school for a while now. I still get butterflies thinking about the new clothes, new supplies, new teachers, new classes. For me as well, September is my birthday month, so I’m faced with getting a year older, which naturally makes me more reflective about myself.

And really, who am I kidding. One of the biggest things about September is the new Fall television season!

Yesterday was the first of September, though the weather in Toronto would like to convince us otherwise, that summer still has lots more weeks left in it because we are in the midst of a heat wave.

At the beginning of this week, The BF and I took part in one of the oldest traditions of Toronto by going to the Ex. Before last year, I had avoided the Ex over a decade, having only unpleasant memories of a crowded, smelly place full of pushy crowds and rude teenagers with nothing really to see or do. However, the $5 admission after 5PM on weeknights was really appealing – I personally don’t need more than a few hours there, and that amount of money to get in? It’s almost free! So, for The BF and me, this may become a tradition. Let’s see if it sticks after this year.

For me, it was the perfect night to spend at the Ex. It was HOT all day, and it was the kind of night that the air was still  heavy with humidity long after the sun had gone down. Call me crazy, but it’s my favorite kind of summer night.

Some of the sights, sounds and tastes:

We started the night by going to the SuperDogs show! A really cute, energetic and so-much-fun-I-could-barely- stand-it event. Best part? We got to meet all the dogs afterwards.

It only happens once a year, so you gotta have some of the food that makes the Ex such a unique experience. For dinner that night, we indulged in corn dogs and deep fried butter. His dessert was the fresh waffle ice cream sandwich.

And then there’s the famous midway. I love rides, but not the kind that you can tear down or put up in a day. Still, really fun to watch.

One Response to “Let’s Go to the Ex!”

  1. Leesh September 3, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    I don’t think I will be going to CNE this year. Although, some of the food and the arts & crafts really interest me. Who knows, if I am really bored on Sunday, I will try to drag Mike to go.

    It looks like you and the BF had a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

