Fill in the Blank Friday – Food!

6 Aug

Food 50s You can fill in the blanks too by visiting Lauren’s blog here.

1.  Today for breakfast I had a smoothie made with frozen berries, rice milk and rice protein powder.

2.  My go to/never fail recipe is Ping Gai, which is a Laotian grilled chicken dish I discovered at a local restaurant. It was so lip-smacking delicious that I had to bring it into my kitchen. I immediately found the recipe online and whenever I make it (and The BF grills it) people rave about it. Not to say I’m a master chef or anything, but it is deceivingly simple and is the perfect mix of spicy, sweet and sour flavors. It makes your mouth happy. It’s true.

3.  Something I eat that other people think is weird is sometimes I’ll eat spaghetti for breakfast if it’s in my fridge. I will rarely admit that because I get embarrassed when people call me gross.

4.  My worst cooking disaster ever was this one time I was making chilli and I thought I would be clever and use dried kidney beans instead of canned. Only I hadn’t planned very well and didn’t have the time to soak the beans properly, so instead did the “quick-soak” method which didn’t work out very well and wasn’t really discovered until after we started eating the chilli. It was a chewy mess.

5.  If I could only eat one flavor of ice cream the rest of my life it would be lemon chiffon, which I had at a little shop of homemade ice cream when we were out in Picton last weekend. The shop is called Slickers, and is very special because their flavours change daily and each is made with local, fresh ingredients. It was hard to choose just 1 flavour – I’d tried Basil too – but I’d settled on the Lemon Chiffon because it was perfectly light and refreshing, and the best answer to that hot sweltering day.

6.  One food I hate and avoid at all costs is mussels and oysters. I actually don’t hate either, but just can’t have them because they make me violently ill. I also just learned that mussels have the same effect on my mom.

7.  What is your favorite meal?  Breakfast, lunch, or dinner? It’s split! I love breakfast on weekends, especially long, lingering brunches. During the week, I love lunch so much that all I can think of is my packed lunch in the fridge from the hours of 9am till noon every day.

4 Responses to “Fill in the Blank Friday – Food!”

  1. Mrs.Buck August 6, 2010 at 7:22 pm #

    Even though I’m not a big fan of cilantro – that Ping Gai recipe sounds delish!

    Have a great weekend!

    • Steph August 6, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

      Mrs Buck, it IS 100% delicious and I’ve been told that even those who hate cilantro find this chicken to be really tasty too.

  2. Leesh August 12, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    Can you believe I have never had Ping Gai? When my office gets takeout from Queen Mother Cafe, I should try it next time…unless you cook it at your house one day and invite us over (wink, wink).

    • Steph August 12, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

      Have it here! Have it here! I promise, we’ll have you here very soon and Ping Gai is definitely on the menu.

Leave a Reply

