#12 On My To-Do List

30 Jul
Image from: Apartment Therapy

I actually don’t have a physical to-do list. It lives in my head, which probably lends to my overwhelmed anxiety a lot of the time, feeling like there is so much I need to get done in the limited time that I have. And maybe the reason I feel like there’s so much on my mental to-do list is because each item is just floating in my head with no order to it. Something that’s been kicking around since before we bought our house, and which I think of all the time, is the tufted headboard I want to make for our bed. Totally inspired by boutique hotel décor. The look is simple and modern, and by all accounts, so simple to DIY.

I was reminded again of this project I want to start by this blog I’ve been following, Young House Love. This week, they wrote about another reader who’d made her own upholstered headboard. A while back, they’d even written a tutorial on how to upholster your own headboard. In fact, you can find how-tos all over the place, like here, here, and here.  I still haven’t found the time to do this myself. And at times like this, I really wonder why. It would take no more than a single weekend to do this, I think, including the sourcing of all materials and tools.

I swear, I swear, that this will be something that will be done by the end of this year. I work in the heart of the art and design district here, and there are many textile shops right at my doorstep that I’ve been meaning to visit for sourcing. I know that half the battle is picking the material, me being the most indecisive person you may ever meet. Once that’s accomplished, I’ll be able to kick off this project with more confidence.

Leave a Reply

