Mad Men

27 Jul

I’ve been hearing so much talk about Mad Men over the last few years though I’d never gotten around to watching it. By the time my interest had really been piqued, it was already a few seasons in and it felt like it was too late to invest the time to catch up. I was also starting to feel a little left out at work, because more and more people were starting to talk about it there, and how it is humorously relative to us because we work in the industry today. We just have less booze, no cigarettes, and more women who occupy roles other than secretary in our place and time.

Luckily, the first few seasons had been kicking around Rogers on Demand for a while and after a few binge sessions over the last couple of months, I was able to fully catch up and be ready for Sunday night’s fourth season premiere.

I’ll admit that it was a bit tough to get into. The pace is slower than what we typically see on TV these days. There isn’t a huge amount of dialogue – in fact, much of the show is based on what isn’t said more than what is actually in the spoken dialogue. And some episodes even appear to be uneventful ones in which nothing really happens. So I guess if you’re looking for action, suspense and fast moving stories, Mad Men isn’t for you.

Don Draper is the main character, the Creative Director and Partner of a New York City ad agency, set in the 1960s. The show is centered around him and the people in his office, as well as their lives outside of work. Once you get into the show, it’s hard not to get immersed. It’s such a well-done show in its details, characters, story and aesthetic. You also get a sense of time throughout the episode with references to some historic events that the characters experience or witness, such as the death of Marilyn Monroe, and the assassination of John F. Kennedy. It’s also pretty amusing to see the amount of cigarettes and booze these agency people consume throughout the day in the office. The fashion and styling is also fantastic, and makes me wish that I could wear Betty Draper dresses every single day of my life. Even the opening sequence is in line with this whole moody aesthetic.

I’m really glad that I had the chance to get caught up on the seasons, because now I’ll be able to watch the episodes air with the rest of the world.

2 Responses to “Mad Men”

  1. Angie August 2, 2010 at 1:40 am #

    Ooooooh! Me too! Did you see this evening’s Christmas Party episode…. it really justifies why Don Draper has been left! He really is a jerkoff!

  2. Steph August 2, 2010 at 10:41 pm #

    No! I was away this weekend, and was completely unplugged from the outside world so I didn’t get to see last night’s episode. I hope that I’ll be able to find it somewhere so that I can watch before next week’s episode.

Leave a Reply

