These Images May Be Disturbing to Some

19 Jul
Photo by polandeze via flickr.com

Late last week, I came across a collection of abandoned toy photos on this photography blog. For the entire weekend, I couldn’t stop thinking about the images, especially those of the dolls, and how stunning the photography was to me. So then I had to ask myself why I couldn’t stop thinking about the images and about why I found them to be so arresting? They are eerie and haunting images. You could even say creepy and perhaps downright disturbing to look at.

Photo by BertBeckers via flickr.com

Maybe it’s because I just recently saw Toy Story 3 in the theater and silently rooted for the abandoned and misguided character Big Baby, and then cried like a baby myself at the end. Maybe it’s because I have inherited a slight fascination with dolls from my mom, who inherited it from her mom before that. And this has most likely led to my strange attachment to the two Cabbage Patch Kids that “live” in our house right now, and why I can’t ever step foot into a Walmart without taking a walk down the doll aisle.

Photo by Lucas* via flickr.com

These photos are incredibly moving to me, and are actually quite beautiful. Each of these toys has its own story, its own history. Each had an owner and was probably once loved.

Photo by howzey via flickr.com

And that’s what makes the photos so sad, is the thought that each was likely held in someone’s hands and admired, played with and loved.

Photo by jamelah via flickr.com

Met with lots of hugs and kisses and maybe some bedtime stories, attended a few tea parties, sat in many pretend school class rooms and shared a pillow with their owners.

Photo by Sea Moon via flickr.com

And now long forgotten and discarded as the children who owned them have outgrown their need for playthings.

2 Responses to “These Images May Be Disturbing to Some”

  1. Steph S C-O July 20, 2010 at 8:42 am #

    now I’m totally creeped out!!! Sorry, dolls always creeped me out even when I was small. Especially when my sister’s “so sad Sarah” doll moved on its own!!! It is sad though looking at abandoned toys….. 😦

  2. Leesh July 22, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    It took me a few days to gather up the courage to view this post. I appreciate the warning but all the photos really bothered me, mainly because I was scared. Dolls scare me. Well, CPKs don’t scare me but those life like dolls do. Timothy and Oscar still need to set up a play date. lol!

Leave a Reply

