Summer Daze

24 Jun

The last couple of weeks seem to have passed in a bit of a whirlwind, which is a huge shame because summer will be over before I know it! Here are some random notes on what has been taking up my time in the last little while:

I had another race on Saturday, which was supposed to be a whole weekend thing. I unfortunately, could not make it for Sunday, which is too bad because that’s of course when the finals are scheduled. My team ended up winning both Division Finals that we raced in that day.

Father’s Day dinner was a BBQ at my parents house on Saturday evening. Only 1 of my 2 brothers could make it with his girlfriend, and we spent the day and evening grilling dinner for the family. The day turned out to be quite a scorcher, and so it was quite nice to relax and sit by the pool.

We took a short road trip to Buffalo, NY on Sunday evening. The BF and I ordered new running shoes online, and had them shipped to a family friend of his. It was definitely cheaper to do it this way, as my shoes alone cost over 100% more to buy on this side of the border. We hung out for a bit with their kids, a 14-year old girl who had just finished her freshman year of high school, and her 10-year old brother who is an avid video gamer and bookworm. The girl also had a visitor, her BFF whom she hadn’t seen since April and it ended up being really fun because it reminded me what it was like to be a teenager. It was non-stop giggling and laughing and teasing, and her friend speaking to me with wide eyes and being extra super polite to me, and I just realized now that it’s because I’m an adult in her eyes. The little boy, who on paper would appear to be a raging little geek who will never go on a date in his life, was actually super cool and so fun to talk to. He has an intelligent young sarcastic wit, that made me forget that he was so young if it weren’t for his little size.

My fixation on finding a hydrangea for our  front flower bed was fulfilled when I discovered a huge abundance of white hydrangeas in my parents’ backyard. I’m not so sure that the transplant was successful – my dad dug some up for me and which we planted, but it was appearing quite lifeless and sad yesterday. The BF clipped the all the wilted branches and leaves off and we will wait and see if he was successful in resuscitating it. I’m also quite pleased with the way my front flower bed is looking now. A couple of Sundays ago, we bought and planted a bunch of annuals. I was a little worried at first, as they flowers were looking a little shabby, and not in a chic way. Now that a few weeks have passed and they’ve fattened up a little bit, with some new blooms growing daily, I find myself admiring our modest little garden every day.

The fence for the G20 summit this weekend in Toronto has nearly all been constructed and has turned our city into a fortress. Walking to work has made me feel like I’m in the middle of an episode of Prison Break. Thankfully, my company has decided to have us all work remotely for the rest of the week, as we all suspect that incidents may only escalate in these 2 days leading up to the summit. While I’ll still be working, doing it from home makes many things more convenient for me and I’ll be able to tackle some of the nagging home-related tasks that have been bugging me for quite some time now. Most importantly, I was able to schedule an evening appointment to finally get my hair cut tonight. I’m not exactly proud of my current hockey-hair coif and I can’t wait to get rid of it.

Had another nasty mosquito bite incident last week, though not nearly as bad as the one that sent me to the emergency room last June. I looked it up and it appears that I may have something that has been termed “Skeeter Syndrome” that causes the bite location to get really itchy and then swell really badly. Last week, a mosquito bit my the front of my left ankle, and my right second toe. I therefore ended up with a massive left cankle, and a cocktail weiner on my right foot. Thankfully, it didn’t turn into an infection as it had last year. I’ve been trying to find out ways to make myself less delicious to mosquitoes, without the standard tried-and-true spraying myself with massive amounts of DEET. I am also trying to discover why there are certain types people in the world who are more attractive to mosquitoes over other people, and who they are. I am like a citronella candle for The BF. If he takes me anywhere outdoors, he will escape getting bitten by mosquitoes because they love to ravage me.

And this weekend I will be camping with The BF and his team of extreme mates while they participate in their annual 24-hour mountain biking race. My reasons for being there have diminished, seeing as we’re no longer responsible for feeding the whole team and as well because my 2 favorite drinking buddies will not be joining us this time. Drinking Buddy #1 is pregnant, and Drinking Buddy #2 is keeping busy with her 2-month old baby girl at home. I suppose I’ll be holding up the fort, being my own drinking buddy, and supporting the team as best I can. Plus, it’ll be nice to be away from home and to not feel bad about not really doing anything but getting hammered in the sun.

And that’s all the unexcitement that’s been happening in my life lately. Cheers!

One Response to “Summer Daze”

  1. Angie June 28, 2010 at 11:24 pm #

    this is so me… all these days keep flying by amd the summer seems to be flying right by. I hate how short it always seems.

Leave a Reply

