Show Me The Money……Maker

9 Jun

Tom Cruise has been a constant in pop culture for as long as I can remember. My BFF in Junior High fell in love with him the minute Top Gun came out, and she was pretty sure that she would end up marrying him someday, despite the fact that she was already taller than he was at that time when she was 11. He was the topic of many giddy conversations, and I would feign the same kind of fervent desire for Cruise, though on a smaller scale. I much preferred boys closer to my age at that time, ie. Corey Haim. Even back then, I didn’t really see what the big deal was with Cruise. My BFF back then would argue that he was stunningly handsome, his appeal elevated even more because of that imperfect grin as a result of his misaligned and off-centre top teeth. This slight defect lent to the fantasy that he was that much more accessible to us ordinary girls attending grade school in Canada. This is true – I remember many recesses spent talking about Tom Cruise and his crooked teeth. That, and the minor issue of his height.

Through the years, I still could not get his appeal, as a dreamboat, and even less so as an actor. For me, Tom Cruise played the same character in every movie he’s been in. That is, the young hot shot pilot/race car driver/bartender/cop/agent/publisher/insert profession here who is trying to live up to the example that has been set by his father (most often one who is dead). He yells a lot in his movies. He also runs quite a bit in his movies. Occasionally, he yells and runs at the same time.

When a new movie starring Tom Cruise is released, I can be counted on as the last one who wants to line up for tickets to see it. Despite this, I have seen almost all his movies, and I chalk this up to those times that something happens to be playing on TV and I have nothing better to watch, or those times that there is a DVD that is lying around and that someone in the room wants to pop it into the player to watch. And almost without fail, the movie will further solidify my feelings about Cruise and the lack of range in his movies and characters.

My level of admiration for Cruise pretty much skyrocketed on Sunday with that appearance he made in character as Tropic Thunder‘s Les Grossman at the MTV Movie Awards. I thought it was brilliant. Donning the hairy fat suit, the fake hairy arms, and a fake hairless pate, he first appeared in a recorded skit to introduce the Awards as the show’s producer. Pretty hilarious in itself. However, a little later on in the show, Les Grossman comes live onto the stage and busts a high-energy hip hop dance to Ludacris and then manages to keep up with J.Lo who joins him on stage too. I was completely surprised by his dancing, shaking his money maker like there was no tomorrow. Cruise showed that he is not the type of guy who takes himself too seriously, and can be and look insanely vulgar for the sake of good, fun comedy. I was utterly mesmerized and captivated, and I could not get enough of him.

Tom Cruise stole the show and a little piece of my heart at the same time.

2 Responses to “Show Me The Money……Maker”

  1. Steph S C-O June 10, 2010 at 9:09 am #

    LMAO!!!! That video was awesome! I loved Tropic Thunder..I didn’t even realize that it was Tom Cruise playing Les Grossman till the very end! thanks for sharing….awesome start to my morning!!!

  2. Leesh June 10, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    I have to agree with you that I do not care for Tom Cruise in anyway. My mom loved him back in the 80s and 90s but lately, he has been acting kind of whack.

    BUT…his performance at the MTV Movie awards proved that he is not uptight and all about himself. I was shocked that he could keep up with J-Lo, although I think his splits at the end of the performance may have injured him.

Leave a Reply

