Fill in the Blank Friday

4 Jun

It’s Friday again, so that means we’re filling in the blanks with Lauren. Head here if you want to check out more answers, or if you want to fill in the blanks yourself.

1. My dream vacation would be spending at least a few months travelling around Asia, exploring, eating, learning, lying on beaches.

2. The best trip I’ve ever taken was to Hong Kong in September 2001. It was my first international trip. I was on my own for the majority of my time spent there so I explored museums, galleries, shopping malls, restaurants, markets and other sites by myself. It was liberating being there by myself, in a place where I didn’t speak the language, finding my own way around the city. When you travel alone, you get to know yourself very well.

3. The most important items to take on a road trip are a lot of salty snacks, a camera and a good attitude.

4. The next trip I’m looking forward to is India with the BF in November.

5. If I had to pick one CD to listen to for a long road trip it would be a mix of lots of fun songs to sing along to.

6. The biggest disaster I’ve ever encountered while traveling was my flight to Hong Kong. I wouldn’t exactly call it a disaster – it was mostly a big setback. It was just 2 weeks after 9/11, and I was leaving Vancouver after a short visit with friends who were living there at the time to fly to Hong Kong to meet my parents, who’d flown there 1 week prior. We were in the air for a few hours when the plane completely turned around – imagine me silently panicking while the plane is doing a U-Turn in mid flight, because none of the flight crew had given any explanation as to why. It turns out that there were some forms that were not filled out properly, if at all, and we were not permitted to fly in U.S. Air Space. This resulted in our flight being grounded until the next morning. In addition to that, according to my original itinerary, I was supposed to land in Hong Kong on my birthday. This delay meant that I was going to leave Vancouver at 6am on my birthday, cross the International Date Line while in flight, and land in Hong Kong the day after my birthday. I was pretty sad that the few hours of my birthday that existed for me that year were spent alone in a hotel room.

7. My favorite traveling memory is the first road trip with The BF to go see a Madonna concert in NYC in 2004. It was also my first time to the city, so he took me around to see some of the sights. I will always remember sitting in Central Park with him and being very, very happy.

Leave a Reply

