Weary Weekend Ahead

2 Jun

Image from: weheartit.com

This upcoming weekend for me is going to be an interesting and challenging one. I have my first dragon boat race of the season on Saturday, which is pretty exciting, though the anticipation leading up to the moments of our very first heat is always accompanied by feelings of anxiety and nervousness. I am a natural worrier about things that are not worth worrying about.

I’ve been doing this for 7 years now (I think? I lost track a few years ago), and at the beginning of each season I always find myself wavering on the brink of not doing it /doing it again for another summer. In fact, in April I had made the decision to take this summer off of dragon boating so that I could spend my summer doing other things. It’s a recreational sport, but it does require a fair time commitment – 2 nights a week to train from April to August, not to mention the 4-5 competitive events throughout the summer on weekends. Additionally, my team typically does 1 out-of-town event, that requires at least a few hours of driving, if not a flight to a destination that’s even further. For the last several years, it’s almost as if my summers have been scheduled around dragon boat. And so, 3 months ago, I had made the decision that dragon boat and I were going to take a break from each other. I thought it was a firm decision, but I somehow got lured back via my own guilt and the promise of some really great things by my teammates and captain.

I’m actually quite glad that I’m back on the boat. This spring has been the best we’ve had in years, and in fact, even better than the entire summer that we had last year. It’s been dry and hot, and there’s nothing like being out on the lake on a warm sunny evening. I think that I would have regretted not being out on the water on these days, and I’m also pretty sure that I would have been kicking myself and lamenting my fat, lazy slobbishness for passing on a summer like this.

The challenge this weekend is not the race on Saturday, but rather the fact that I am also participating in the Becel Ride for Heart the next day. The day after my first race is typically a recovery day for me. I’m sore. I’m tired. Bruised and worn. Though this weekend, the chaser to the dragon boat race is going to be a 75km bicycle ride on Toronto’s DVP. I had committed to this distance during the time that I was still saying `no’ to dragon boat, and also because I had successfully completed that distance the last time we participated in the Ride for Heart 2 years ago. What makes it all worse is that I have not made the time to get on the bike more than once this season to get any semblance of riding legs. This may end up being completely embarrassing. I briefly toyed with the idea of taking the Monday off of work so that I could recuperate if I needed to, but then thought that it would make me a seriously wussy wimp if I did so.

I will do my best to get through this weekend without moaning, complaining or crying (fake or real). Wish me luck!

One Response to “Weary Weekend Ahead”

  1. Steph S C-O June 2, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    Good luck this weekend! You are truly a trooper and I know you’ll kick a$$ in both events! No shame in taking Monday off! You need a day to relax and recuperate.

Leave a Reply

