A Getaway to Niagara Wine Country

30 May

While I’m the type of person who craves routine — it makes me feel organized and in control — I’ve lately become a victim of it. I’ve gotten so caught up with my schedule and sticking to it that I haven’t allowed much room for anything that deviates from my required tasks, errands and weekly duties. To say that I’ve been on auto-pilot for the last little while is a bit of an understatement. I just keep moving with little thought just to do what needs to get done. The month of May ends tomorrow, and I feel as if I haven’t done as much as I could have to enjoy the brilliant early summer we’ve been experiencing. I also feel like it’s been a detriment to my relationships, especially that which is most important to me, the one with The BF. Our time together lately has been filled with just doing what is necessary. We’ve spent very little time actually enjoying our time with each other.

Our little getaway last weekend reminded me how important it is to take that time to do just that. To escape from routine, to clear the mind of those nagging little tasks, to do something out of your ordinary. Something that I need to face and reconcile within myself is that there will always be those nagging tasks, that there will always be laundry, dishes, and tidying to be done. That work and my job is also a daily thing. As much as I get done on a daily and weekly basis, it’s a perpetual list of matters that will need to be tended to and the fact that it is perpetual and neverending need not overwhelm or frustrate me. A break from routine, once in a while, is as necessary as making sure we’ve got clean clothes to wear.

We made a trip out to Niagara-on-the-Lake last weekend, taking advantage of our long Victoria Day weekend. And what a weekend it was! We had nothing but blue skies, sun and warm temperatures. We toured and visited a good number of the wineries around the region, sampled some better than expected reds, whites, and internationally-acclaimed Ice Wines. We could not resist and brought back a modest bounty of wines to enjoy at home.

It was a perfect weekend.

Inniskillin Winery was our first stop

A closer look at the Inniskillin vineyard. The grapes were still very young.

The Inniskillin vines. In the distance, you can see the bridge to the U.S.

Next was Konzelmann Estate Winery. You might recognize this from their label.

In the Reif Estate basement during the tour.

The Reif Estate Winery Sensory Garden with four sections that feature plantings like coriander, honeysuckle, mint, lemon verbena, rosemary and others to provide an experience for your senses.

These plantings are representative of the flavors, colors and aromas used to produce Niagara wines.

The Reif Estate Winery vines

Peller Estates was grand and and the grounds were quite beautiful. This was taken on their back patio.

We had dinner in town in the Shaw Festival Theatre district, on Queen Street. The brilliant sunshine and blue skies carried on into the evening.

4 Responses to “A Getaway to Niagara Wine Country”

  1. Ai May 31, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

    Sounds like you had a great weekend. I love Niagara on the Lake, especially the wineries. Hubby laughs that I may be the only he knows that would go to wineries and do tastings on her own. 🙂
    And yes, it is important to always take some time with your SO…every relationship needs it!

  2. Angie June 1, 2010 at 1:44 am #

    It really looks lovely from the pics!

  3. Leesh June 3, 2010 at 7:37 am #

    I have never been on a tasting tour. I should have done so when I was really into wines. But I think a quick getaway to Niagara-on-the-Lake would be nice. I am going in October for work but that means no relaxing.

    Thanks for sharing some of the beautiful photos you took.

  4. Lisa June 16, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    It looks like you had a great time! We went there a couple years ago and loved it.

Leave a Reply

