In a Rut

16 May

It’s been a pretty challenging month. Work’s been kicking my ass. I’m time poor because of it. I feel like I’m in a constant state of trying to just catch-up. I’m always rushing to get somewhere, or to get something done on time. Yesterday morning, I was on my way to dragon boat practice and had come to a standstill in traffic because one of the major arteries into the city was closed for maintenance. Because of this traffic, I was going to be late and miss the start of my practice. I hate being late. For anything. It makes me incredibly anxious. And yesterday, sitting in my car, barely moving and still far from my destination, I considered calling it quits on my team because I didn’t want to have this one extra thing to have to commit myself to getting to on a twice-weekly basis. Because then, if I didn’t have practices to go to, then I could have more time at work to get my stuff done.

My solution to my state of constant anxiety was to sacrifice something that I do in my personal time so that I could feel better about work?

I believe I have some serious thinking to do.

I actually made it to practice in acceptable time. Many others were delayed, so the start was pushed back. After it was done, I was glad that I had made it. In my ridiculous state of panic, I had forgotten how physical activity helps to release all those horrible frantically anxious stressful feelings.

While I reconsider my real priorities and work on not being such a Debbie Downer, I’m going to leave you with some pictures of a wedding we went to last weekend. This was the first of its kind that we had gone to, where the ceremony and reception all happened in an afternoon, at one of those trendy restaurants in a trendy part of Toronto. It was perfectly low-key and intimate, which is something that I’ve been seeing more of lately with our friends.

The Venue

My entrée – Oxtail Ravioli. Perfect.

His entrée – Speckled Trout on Braised Greens

Dessert – Home Made Raspberry Sorbet

3 Responses to “In a Rut”

  1. Steph S C-O May 17, 2010 at 10:28 am #

    mmmm…..that oxtail ravioli sounds really delicious!!! And the sorbet is making me drool!!!

    Glad you were able to catch practice and work some tension out!!! Hope you have a better week this week!!!

  2. Leesh May 17, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

    Yup, that ravoli looks amazing and I am sure it tasted amazing too.

  3. Ai May 20, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

    All the food looks yummy!!! I want some of that sorbet!

Leave a Reply

