Fill in the Blank Friday [Late on a Saturday]

8 May

We just got home from a wedding and a full day spent downtown, and I found this really fun thing to do while blog surfing. It’s a series on the little things we do, themed weekly, and all you do is fill in the blanks. This week, the theme was books and so I wanted to play along. Sorry that I am a day late with this.

Image from: weheartit.com

1. My favourite book growing up was Anything by Judy Blume. Are You There God, It’s Me Margaret? and Deenie were both mulitple re-reads for me.

2. The funniest book I ever read was Lamb by Christopher Moore. Hilarious laugh out loud funny. I became self-conscious about reading this on the train because of all the looks I would get.

3. The one book that has truly changed my life is The Red Tent by Anita Diamant. A girlfriend had recommended this to me, and I didn’t have high expectations of it because of the subject matter. However, I became totally engrossed in this book about sisterhood, the bonds between women, and the need for female voices to be heard. It became apparent that I was not alone in my feelings for this book, because while reading it, I had many strangers who’d also read the book to stop and tell me how much they had enjoyed reading it. This is the only book I’ve read that has had that much of an outright response like that.

4. If you’re looking for a real “tear jerker” you should probably read The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold. I was inconsolable for about the last 80 pages of this one.

5. If I could meet any author living or dead I would want to meet L.M. Montgomery. I loved Anne of Green Gables growing up, and my fascination with this character and the author who created her has continued into my adulthood.

6. The next book on my “to read” list is Atonment by Ian McEwan. I’m actually about 5 chapters in on this one, so it’s not really “next,” rather it’s current.

7. If I was snowed into a remote cabin in the woods and could only bring three books with me, I’d bring: I have such a hard time with these questions because of my indecisiveness! Though I think that I would bring A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry, Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë and Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery because these are books that I’ve wanted to re-read for years, but just haven’t had the chance to do so.

2 Responses to “Fill in the Blank Friday [Late on a Saturday]”

  1. Leesh May 11, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    I totally forgot about Judy Blume books. I think I want to read all of them all over again. I wish I kept the ones that I had and even The Babysitters Club series. Looks like I will have to start hitting the used book stores.

  2. Supercilious Seed May 24, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    LAMB had me snorting with laughter. I wish Biff was my best friend! Have you read any of Moore’s other books? He’s also on twitter – @thatauthorguy His tweets are also a giggle.

Leave a Reply

