These are a Few of My Favourite Things

6 May

I recently saw this fun little post on Pencil Skirts & Pearls, and since it’s been a week since I’ve posted, I thought that this could be a quick and easy way to reintroduce myself to this little blog of mine.

1. Favorite hobby?

Image from: weheartit.com

Right now, it’s cooking and finding new and interesting yet simple recipes to make.

2. Favorite tv show?

Hard one! Right now it’s LOST and I’m cherishing every second of this show because it will all be over in just a few short weeks. Glee is still my guilty pleasure, which airs at the same time as LOST, so I will catch one “live” if I can and the other when it is put up online. My new favourite show this season is Parenthood, which I discovered by chance while channel surfing. I’m hooked – it’s the kind of show that makes you laugh and cry at the same time.

3. Favorite restaurant food?

Image via flickr.com by luvsickmedia

Indian Food! I love the intense and complex layering of flavours. It’s too rich to have often, but I would if I could.

4. Favorite thing to shop for?

Image from: weheartit.com

This is sad and I am a bit ashamed to say it, but lately it’s been groceries. I love feeling and smelling fresh the fresh produce. I love challenging myself to planning all our meals around only what is on sale at my local grocery store. I love filling my cart with all things fresh on my weekly trips to the store on Saturday morning. Strange to say, but grocery shopping is relaxing for me.

5. Favorite animal?

Image from: weheartit.com

The giraffe. To me, they’re at once majestic yet odd-looking. They appear placid and happy, have really long eyelashes and look like as if they are keeping a secret.

6. Favorite song?

“Flightless Bird American Mouth” by Iron & Wine. Yes, it is the song that is playing in the final scene of Twillight, but I can and will have it on repeat on my iPod. It’s got a gorgeous melody, and the lyrics are dense and meaningful. Admittedly, I did only discover Iron & Wine with his song “Such Great Heights” on another movie soundtrack, Garden State – which in my opinion is a brilliant compilation – and I’ve loved his stuff since. His music is subdued and melodic and it is perfect to listen to no matter what my mood is.

7. Favorite word?

I think I will say “Chartreuse.” I love how it rolls out of your mouth and I love that it sounds like the colour.

8. Recent favorite youtube video?
I am sorry to say that I’m not an avid YouTube viewer so I can’t say that I have a favourite video.

9. Favorite movie?

Love, Actually. I make a date with myself every Christmas where I will pop in the DVD and watch it while wrapping gifts. The movie gets me every time. Though I imagine that it would be kind of creepy if it happened to ourselves, how do you not melt whenever that scene plays between Mark and Juliet on her door step when he uses a series of poster boards to silently say to her “To me, you are perfect – And my wasted heart will love you…” And then at the school Christmas show, when the curtains open and reveal Sam fervently playing the drums while his love Joanna is singing “All I Want for Christmas is You” always gets me all emotional and teary. This little movie is about so many different stories of love, and each one is special and touching and lovely.

10. Favorite childhood memory?

Probably when my Aunt May, who was a teenager at the time, bought me my very first watch when we were visiting her and my Grandparents when they lived in Peterborough, Ontario. We went to a department store, and I got to pick my very own Mickey Mouse watch. It had a yellow band, and at 4 years old, I felt like I was almost a grown up.

Now it’s your turn. Have some fun and play along. Copy and paste the following, and answer each with a description and a photo. Leave a link to your post in my comments so that I can be sure to get to know you a little more too.
1. Favorite hobby?
2. Favorite tv show?
3. Favorite restaurant food?
4. Favorite thing to shop for?
5. Favorite animal?
6. Favorite song?
7. Favorite word?
8. Recent favorite youtube video?
9. Favorite movie?
10. Favorite childhood memory?

One Response to “These are a Few of My Favourite Things”

  1. Leesh May 7, 2010 at 8:37 am #

    Lost – I am now behind five episodes. I really need to catch up before the series finale. Looks like I should have a LOST marathon this weekend.

    Flightless Bird, American Mouth – After the movie, I could not stop playing this song…it was on repeat for days. Good choice!

    Love Actually – every part of this movie moves me (esp the moment with the poster boards) and makes me want to cry. I didn’t watch it this Christmas because my neighbour had borrowed it. Another movie that I have add to my “must see during the Christmas season” is The Holiday.

Leave a Reply

