Disconnect

30 Apr
Image from: weheartit.com

We’ve become so accustomed to instant communication that we’ve come to expect immediate responses from others. It has blanketed everything we do with this sense of extreme urgency. It’s come to the point that if you do not respond to something within a reasonable amount of time, you are deemed unresponsive, lazy or dismissive.

The climate at my work has become tainted by this. If I’m not able to answer a phone call or chat message for any reason, I get chased. If I cannot answer an email quickly enough, I feel as if I’m not doing my job well. I’m sure this affects my actual productivity at work, because I’m expected to respond so quickly, that I will interrupt whatever task I should be concentrating on whenever a new email appears in my inbox so that I can address it immediately.

Recently, it was recommended by someone I work with that I get myself a Blackberry so that I could be better connected. So that I could have one more line connecting me to work. As if my mobile phone isn’t quite enough.

I will NOT buy MYSELF a Blackberry so that I can be more accessible for work. Because really? How dire can any of these emergencies by? We don’t save lives. These situations never involve blood, or guts. We work on Mac computers and make things look nice and pretty so that people will want to spend their hard-earned money to buy these things. It’s not life and it certainly isn’t death.

Technology is awesome, yeah. But all these devices and doodads that give us this amazing ability to communicate with each other when we don’t even have to be in the same room, or even have to use our voices to have good old-fashioned conversation and dialogue are causing us to lose sense of what a commodity our time really is. We’re in such a rush. Always needing to be connected in case we miss something. Responding. Reaching out for the sake of reaching out, or simply because we can and because that person is accessible, not necessarily for a meaningful connection. Our technology, which is evolving daily, is supposed to offer us convenience but it’s robbing us of our own time and not allowing us to appreciate it. It has made it almost necessary for us all to be connected to the world and engaged with it at all times. It’s made it hard for us to actually turn off and connect with the world the way that we used to. Remember how we used to be in those times?

4 Responses to “Disconnect”

  1. Steph S C-O April 30, 2010 at 9:00 am #

    Last night at dinner, I couldn’t help but notice that almost every single person dining (including extreme-hubby) had their BB or iphones on hand. It was sad really, because instead of having a nice conversation with their companion, they were constantly distracted. I’ve had to tell Extreme-hubby to put away his devices or I’d throw them out. LOL.

  2. Kat April 30, 2010 at 11:26 am #

    i refuse to carry a bb for work but i always have my personal one on me. when i worked for an agency and they gave one to me, i always left it in my desk and never turned it on. to me, important things are always in my head and it’s up to me to filter what’s deemed ‘important’ or not important and about 90% of the time, most things that ppl note as “urgent” really aren’t – they just don’t have the patience to wait for an answer!

    i have to say though, i love my bb. it certainly helps pass the time when you’re waiting in line, lying in bed and too lazy to get up and use the computer or waiting at a stop light *gasp*!!! yes i still do that :p

  3. Ai May 1, 2010 at 5:38 pm #

    I guess, I’m lucky since the hubby isn’t so tech savvy, but if we’re at a resto with tv’s forget about any conversation. He gets sucked in just the same. As for bbs, well, I have many friends who are on them and I worry if I do get one…I’ll turn into them 🙂
    But since, it’s time to renew my cel contract we’ll see what I end up with.

  4. Leesh May 1, 2010 at 11:44 pm #

    I’m so glad that I am not at a job where it requires me to have a BB. I don’t think anything is that important. Unless my employer is paying me over 100K, there is no way that I would want to be reached after I leave work at the end of the day.

    I have an iPhone and I am so guilty of tweeting or texting at the table. When I am with hubby, we try to not do it. When I am with friends, especially those who have iPhones, we always end up pulling them out to show photos, tweets, and apps. It’s quite addicting. I will for sure admit that.

    It’s funny that both Stephs and Ai, who are all friends, all don’t have a BB or iPhone. I applaud you guys for that. But I bet that once one of them gets one, the others will follow suit.

Leave a Reply

