Today I’m Down to Earth and Cheery

22 Apr

Though these last several days have been so frenzied, I want to talk about some of the brighter moments that have brought me little hits of cheer throughout this week. These are the kinds of things that made me smile, and served as reminders to me that work really is just work.

My daily hits of cheer:

image source: weheartit.com

Monday – Early in the morning on Tuesday, we got the great news that Ai, Mrs. Lovely Bump herself, had given birth to her healthy baby girl KSP the night before. I look forward to meeting her and seeing Ai for the first time as a Mommy.

Tuesday – I was happy and surprised to see that I was honoured with a blogger award by the amazing and sweet für elisse. This is my very first time ever getting anything like this as a blogger. I tentatively and shyly started blogging just a few months ago in February. It’s still a bit of an alien world to me because I consider myself a guarded and private person. However, I am growing to love this community more each day because I have had the opportunity to connect with many bloggers simply by reaching out through writing. Elisse is one that I feel fortunate to have connected with. Thanks so much for this award Elisse!

Wednesday – The tea that Leesh of the Blarkness Chronicles sent me for the online tea exchange finally arrived in my mailbox. I say finally because Leesh had been worrying that it had gotten misdirected or even stolen to be enjoyed by my postman himself. I was so excited to receive my package, that I didn’t bother to snap any photos of it before opening. [It was wrapped in Winnie-the-Pooh tissue paper. He’s my favourite.] It was Mate Chino tea from The Tea Emporium and it smells and tastes of cocoa and almond bits. Heavenly! What’s more is that it’s touted to be an immunity booster. Thanks Leesh. You did good!

Thursday – It’s Earth Day and each of us at work got a nice little gift from the Earth. Charming and pretty. It’s amazing what a single flower on your desk can do for your mood.

And the best part of the day is right now. Knowing that tomorrow is Friday and that the week will soon be history.

One Response to “Today I’m Down to Earth and Cheery”

  1. Leesh April 22, 2010 at 10:39 pm #

    It’s sounds like despite you having a not-so-nice time at work, your personal life rocks!!! You had a good week.

    I’m so glad that you received my tea to you in the mail. I was extremely worried. I have very little faith in the postal service but they have proved me wrong. I am happy you like it. Mike thought it sounded gross so I was stressed that you might think the same.

    What a cute present from your work! Did it come in the perrier can because that’s uber creative. At least your work thinks of you…early this week was Administrative Assistant Day and no one at my work was acknowledged.

Leave a Reply

