That Time with the Accidental Chickpeas

2 Mar

It was a quiet weekend and I got the majority of it to myself. The BF was busy all weekend doing fun guy stuff like throwing a stag for his buddy and learning how to boardercross, and I had no plans and it was amazingly nice to just be by myself. So while I did my normal weekend routine stuff like the grocery shopping, cooking our food for some of our week’s meals, laundry, and cleaning, I also watched a good number of movies, um, online. While I was doing the stuff around the house, my laptop was on and playing When in Rome, Valentine’s Day, The Lovely Bones, Precious and The Blind Side. Does it go without saying that I also spent a good part of my weekend crying because of these movies? This is a pretty boring and pointless post, but I’ve got nothing else to say, because my week had fueled a temporary loathing towards people in general and also intensified my need to drink. I was not anybody’s friend and now I’m a little numbed by it. I suppose I can leave you with this. I consider myself a solutions-person. I’m not sure if it’s a product of the kind of work I do and that it has groomed me into some kind of a quick-thinking, fire-dousing, creative problem solving individual to make sure our jobs are done well and on time and that everyone is happy in the end, or if it’s something I had before and that’s what makes me good at my job. I just know that if someone tells me something can’t be done, or if it’s going to take too much time, or if there was a mistake made, I’m pretty good at quickly figuring something out that will get us to the end point without losing any time, or even making up some time without cheating and having to cut corners.

It’s time that I get to my point. I was making a batch of white chili this weekend, and accidentally opened a can of chickpeas instead of white kidney beans. I really hate wasting stuff, and though it was just a can of chickpeas, it was still a can of chickpeas that I had bought and I couldn’t throw it out. I kicked myself maybe twice, before I thought to just figure out a way to roast them and put them to good use. I would’ve made hummus, but I hadn’t bought enough veggies to dip in it. This is how I ended up doing it.

Rinsed and drained chickpeas.

Tossed chickpeas with some cayenne pepper, a splash of olive oil and a
little pinch of Herbamare (aromatic sea salt).

Spread on a baking sheet and baked in a preheated 450° oven for
about a half hour.

Watched the chickpeas for the last few minutes to make sure they
browned and didn’t burn. (I’d lost natural light by the time the
chickpeas were done and this picture taken).

They turned out to be pretty tasty, and a healthier snack for us to munch on during the Gold medal hockey match, just not as fun as chips. Maybe I am a bit too proud about what I did with a frickin’ can of chickpeas, but it was still a good, small victory to me.

3 Responses to “That Time with the Accidental Chickpeas”

  1. Leesh March 3, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    I love chickpeas and I love how you included pictures every step of the way. And your own pictures too!

    I must try this out some time. Question though, whenever you use chickpeas, do you remove the skin off them or am I the only anal one who removed each skin before doing anything with the chickpeas?

    I have used chickpeas in chili and I have also made chickpea salad (olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, ginger, and diced red pepper, red onion and tomatoes). Do you have any other recipes that include chickpeas?

  2. kat March 3, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    pita chuncks + hummus = YUM

  3. stingaling March 3, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

    LOL Leesh – no I don’t remove the skin off the individual peas like you do. I am much too impatient! I just run some cold water over the chickpeas in a colander for a few minutes, and that gets rid of enough of the loose skin and other stuff. I love chickpeas too, but haven’t tried them in chili – thanks for the idea. In the summer, I make salad by combining chickpeas, sliced cucumbers, chopped tomatoes, chopped red onion, olive oil, lemon juice, parsley and some feta. I also love making my own fresh hummus with roasted garlic. And, sometimes if I need something hot and in a hurry, I make a fake curry chickpea thing.

Leave a Reply

