A Civilized Weekend of Cocktails and Brunch

21 Feb

This weekend was a busy one, and as usual, went by too quickly. I’m settling into Sunday night mode now, because I’ve got a busy week ahead of me at work.

Last night, I had the 2nd of my Christmas gift classes at the LCBO, Designer Cocktails. This time, I convinced the BF to join me for the class. It was pretty fun – we learned a few tips on entertaining with cocktails, all the while being schooled on how simple the art of bartending really is. We learned how to prepare 6 cocktails, got a sample of each for tasting, and were given a recipe book to take home.

Our favourite drink of the tutored tasting was called the Firefly. It tasted like cinnamon hearts, and I promise that it’s not as offensive as it may sound.

Firefly
1 oz Fireball Whisky
1/2 oz Vanilla Schnapps
3 oz Pineapple Juice

Shake in a cocktail shaker filled with ice, strain into a glass and garnish with a strawberry.

Today, we threw a brunch baby shower for our friend Lovely Bump at the Boiler House in the Distillery District. We had a great time over-indulging in breakfast, lunch and dessert courses, and catching up with a few ladies whom we haven’t seen in a long time. And Lovely Bump, if you are reading this, I didn’t mean to make you cry, because that in turn made me cry, and now there are pictures of us with everyone pointing and laughing at our crying faces. I hope that you enjoyed the Toronto version of your Shower.

I’m an idiot and forgot my camera at home.

I’m sipping on some Wayne Gretzky Estate Winery Reisling (thanks stephsolchai), and the Canada–U.S.A. hockey game is on right now. How appropriate. Though, I think it’s so totally inappropriate that Canada is currently down by 1 goal. Shape up, please.

Have a good week, friends.

One Response to “A Civilized Weekend of Cocktails and Brunch”

  1. Steph S C-O February 22, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    what a fancy weekend you had! Yes, I have pics of you and Aileen crying, but, don’t worry, I won’t post them.
    I can’t wait till you have a wine/cheese and cocktails fancy party. Give me enough notice so I can look for a fancy hat! lol! (I’m serious though.)

Leave a Reply

