Home Was Not Built in a Day

19 Feb

It’s our 1-year anniversary in this house together.

A year since we took that plunge into cohabitation.

One year since we walked through that front door with big plans on how we were going to make this small-ish space our home.

It’s hard to believe that this much time has passed, because I feel like I haven’t accomplished nearly as much as  I had set out to do. Was I naively ambitious? Probably. Or did I just lack motivation? I hope not. Since we moved in, it feels like not much has really changed. The carpet we wanted to tear out and replace with hardwood is still here. And while the house came complete with California shutters on our upper level and side windows, our front and back doors still remain without window coverings. We haven’t yet gotten around to painting any other walls besides those of our kitchen. And while we’re in the kitchen, we’d talked endlessly about building a banquette bench in the recessed wall for our table. As of this minute, it still is just a wall. The tufted fabric headboard I wanted to make for our bed still lives in my head as a plan I want to execute next week…or the week after that…or the next long weekend we have.

By now, I thought that things would be different.

When people ask me how the house is, my response usually is, “It’s coming along,” even after a year, it is still coming along. We are building our home s-l-o-w-l-y, and I’ve learned that I have to exercise patience, something that is not at the top of my list of traits. It’s a struggle for me just to deal with the day-to-day stuff – the finances, the meal planning and cooking, the cleaning, the job – and after I’ve done all that stuff, I need to find time for other important stuff like Lost, The Bachelor and Glee. How in the world do I fit in headboard building?

For now, I am content and satisfied because we’ve created a comfortable home for ourselves with as much as we have. And while I wish that I had more better looking things to make my house all charming and pretty-like, I know that I need the proper time to devote to it. We may not have a proper coffee table, or real furniture in our spare bedrooms, but this is the space that we enjoy coming back to every day. And I suppose that should be what is important, and what I should remember to appreciate each day. It’s all the little things that make this modest little space our modest little space.

Curling our toes in this carpet.

Leisurely Sunday morning breakfasts.

Taco parties with friends.

Sleeping next to him in our headboard-less bed.

3 Responses to “Home Was Not Built in a Day”

  1. Steph S C-O February 20, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    if that’s what your sunday breakfasts look like, I’m coming over from now on!!!
    Great post — Happy ONE year Homenniversary!
    You’re house looks great…very cozy, and yes, as long as you enjoy coming home to it, that’s all that matters. Our house is still “coming along” and it’s been over 2 years! LOL.

  2. Kat February 20, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

    love it!! the pics are great 🙂 everyone’s home is a ‘work in progress’ as long as it’s filled with laughter and love, it’s pretty much complete! 😀

  3. Leesh February 22, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    Did you take these pictures of your feet and the food? I can’t believe that it’s already been a year since you have moved in. Congrats!!!

    I want to be invited to your taco parties!!!

Leave a Reply

