A New Brew for Me

18 Feb

Tea has become my newest obsession since I discovered David’s Tea. Admittedly, it did take me a while to really discover David’s, which opened up in September ’08 a block away from where I work. Loose-leaf tea was a completely foreign world to me. I was just someone who was perfectly content buying generic green tea off the shelf, and the thought of exploring this new and strange world was kinda scary. I knew nothing about tea, and therefore thought that I wouldn’t know what to ask for or where to start. Clueless is what I was, and I hate it when people can see that I am. It’s really embarrassing.

Once I was brave enough to enter the store, I learned that David’s welcomes the clueless people like me and that they actually enjoy educating us. In fact, every time I go in, there are at least 5 more teas that I will fall in love with. You are greeted every time with a small sample of one of their two Teas of the Day. Yeah, sure, staring at a wall of 100+ canisters of tea is still overwhelming, but everyone there is happy to help you. They will engage you in a dialogue and start opening canisters so that you can smell the contents and will keep going until you find what you were looking for, and maybe even something that you didn’t know you wanted. Last month, I was looking for a new green tea for home. Something that I could have on the weekends, to give me the bit of caffeine that I crave in the morning (I gave up coffee a year and a half ago), that was unflavoured, and was easy on the wallet. The guy behind the counter presented me with quite a few options until I settled on the Organic Japanese Sencha. It’s a completely refreshing, clean and bright tasting tea. It was supposed to be my weekend morning treat, but now I’m afraid that it has turned me into a bit of a tea snob who will avoid drinking “generic” bagged tea, so every morning I prepare a bag of the Sencha and bring it to work for my afternoon fix.

Other flavours that I love:

  • Secret Weapon: A white tea that is supposed to be super-high in antioxidants and good for an immunity boost, with licorice, goji berries and almonds. Really subtle and smooth, and not too fruity which is good for me because I don’t really dig teas that taste like sludge from The Body Shop. It also has a slightly nutty finish.
  • Cinnamon Rooibos Chai: I was never a big fan of cinnamon, because to me, it smells like drool. However, I was buying a bag of this for a friend, and the girl behind the counter couldn’t stop raving about it and even told me that it was amazing for cramps. I happened to have some of the worst cramps ever that same morning and so then ended up buying a bag for myself. I quickly got over the drool aroma and now have a cup of it almost daily. It goes down a little sweet, so for me, it balances out the spiciness really nicely.
  • Crème Brûlée: A green rooibos that smells like a sticky, sweet, caramelly dessert. Surprisingly light tasting, and not syrupy sweet. And, as a matter of fact, I am drinking a cup of it now.
  • Organic Hojicha Crème: Roasted green tea with bits of cold-pressed vanilla. Kind of creamy, nutty and smoky. Low in caffeine, and they say on the website that it’s a good tea to have before bed, which is what I often do.
  • Bravissimo: I haven’t tried this because of my ragweed allergy – it  has chamomile in it – but I thought this deserved special mention because I picked this up for the BF last week when he had a pretty bad throat and ear infection. This tisane is supposed to soothe sore throats with its licorice, orange peel, rosehip and peppermint. BF has a bit of a sweet tooth, is not much of a tea drinker, and so I was afraid that he would hate it. He LOVES it, and says that it has the perfect amount of sweetness, probably owing to the goji berries it has in it.

So, if you’ve never been in David’s Tea, you kind of haven’t really lived yet. If you’re ever in the area of one, set aside a few minutes to go inside, sniff around with a little help from the staff and start your little flavour adventure from there. Or, if you’re a fan of David’s Tea like I am, I’m curious to know what you’ve tried there and which are your favorite ones.

3 Responses to “A New Brew for Me”

  1. Steph S C-O February 19, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    You know, I have you to thanks for introducing me to this place! (Although I still have yet to step foot in it! LOL) My faves: Exotica, Coffee Pue’reh, Green Seduction and Creme Caramel Rooibos. Oh and also Creme Brulee Rooibos! The Cinnamon Rooibos Chai was a bit too spicy for me, but, good on occassion. I think I’ll try the Organic Hojicha Creme one day….sounds delish!

  2. Kat February 19, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

    wow, i just drink regular orange pekoe tea. you guys are so fancy!

  3. Leesh February 22, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

    I normally go to Tea Emporium but I would love to try out David’s tea. Maybe you can have a tea party or even bring some tea to the next Solon Massive party?

Leave a Reply

