It’s not cheap wine when no one is looking

17 Feb

Those who know me, know that I loves me some wine. I would never claim or pretend to be some kind of expert or sommelier who knows what she’s talking about – I just love drinking it, and I enjoy the simple act of just pouring myself a glass of wine at home. This is why I love it when I find a great value wine. We all know about the Fuzions of the wine world that have made their way onto the liquor store shelves. These wines aren’t horrible – they are very drinkable – but you wouldn’t bring any of them to the next dinner party that you are invited to. At $7.45, it’s very budget-friendly for an at-home sipping wine. Not too shabby at all, because at home, I don’t really care about any stigma attached to cheap value wine. It’s more about having something to have on hand which I can enjoy without feeling like I am drinking malt vinegar from a stemmed glass. Oh, I’m so civilized.

On Saturday before heading out to Blue Mountain, we stopped at the LCBO for a quick grab of some wine for the weekend. I went straight for the Australia section because that’s probably one of the friendliest sections in which to make a fast selection, and I found the Lindeman’s Cawarra Shiraz Cabernet that had a Limited Time Offer on it for $9.95. Sold!

Not surprising at all, but it was really good. Juicy – kind of plummy, with some cherry and a bit of spice to round things out. Not too full, so totally drinkable on its own, which is what we happily did. And the fact that it was sub $10? Magic.

3 Responses to “It’s not cheap wine when no one is looking”

  1. Steph S C-O February 17, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    good find! sooo, no Arbor Mist to your next dinner party? White Zinfandel? no? hehehe….

    • stingaling February 17, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

      And keep your Wild Vines at home too. ;o)

  2. kat February 17, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

    anything that does the job works for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

